The ISPS Handa Cup
Fact Sheet
  • The ISPS Handa Cup is an international team competition featuring 12 U.S.-born LPGA Legends versus 12 internationally-born LPGA Legends.
  • Features a nine year history, played since 2006 in the U.S.
  • Played in St. Augustine, FL; Portsmouth, NH; Orlando, FL; Nashville, TN; and West Point, MS.
  • Team USA won the first six meetings, retained the Cup with a 24-24 tie and lost to the World for the first time in 2013.  Team USA regained the Cup in 2014 with a 28-20 victory.
  • Contested in traditional match play format the first six years. A recent change to stroke play within the matches has resulted in tighter competition and more golf, as all matches end on the 9th or 18th hole.
  • Team USA was captained by Hall of Famer and 88-time LPGA Tour champion Kathy Whitworth from 2006 until 2011.
  • In 2012, Hall of Famer JoAnne “Big Mama” Carner took over the reins.
  • Team World has been led by Hisako “Chako” Highuchi of Japan, Cathy Panton Lewis of Scotland, and as of 2011, Pia Nilsson of Sweden.
  • The event is name for Dr. Haruhisa Handa, A Japanese businessman and philanthropist who enthusiastically supports professional golf, in particular the Legends of the LPGA.
  • ISPS is the International Sports Promotion Society, Dr. Handa’s premier global organization founded to promote the Power of Sport.
  • Team USA has showcased Hall of Famers Nancy Lopez, Pat Bradley, Patty Sheehan, Beth Daniel, Amy Alcott, Betsy King, JoAnne Carner and Kathy Whitworth.
  • Team World has included Laura Davies, Jan Stephenson, Sally Little, Alison Nicholas, Helen Alfredsson, Liselotte Neumann, Lorie Kane, Catrin Nilsmark and more.
  • Additional players of note who have participated in the past and/or are eligible to participate in 2014 include Juli Inkster, Meg Mallon, Dottie Pepper, Rosie Jones, Sherri Steinhauer, Nancy Scranton and Sherri Turner